foraging for pickleweed

Wow. I just came across a recipe in Mark Bittman’s blog (he is food journalist for the New York Times, and author of “How to Cook Everything” ) for fish over samphire. Wait a minute, I thought: that looks like pickleweed! Then I googled it, and it IS pickleweed, that stuff that grows rampant in the coastal areas around here. So now there are at least two yummy vegetables that I can easily forage around here, because they are plentiful when in season: New Zealand spinach, and pickleweed. Bittman writes, “If you forage for something, it tastes much better than when you pay $12 a pound for it. This is why talk of ramps always seems to annoy me, I guess. Fiddleheads too – they’re not meant to be bought but found.” I agree. And no, I will not tell you where my stash is — although I might give you a hint.

Bittman talks on TED.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

