bees are neighbors too

This article about beehive vandalism interested me because, now that I finally seem to be successfully growing nasturtiums, a few other flowers and vegetables, the bee and hummingbird population is increasing around my back porch. I enjoy the flowers, and I’m glad to see more birds and bees hovering around, helping the vegies grow; but I admit that the bees make me slightly nervous, especially since I have a mild bee allergy (“mild” in the sense that whatever area gets stung swells up to several times normal swelling size — but I don’t go into shock requiring hospitalization). So I welcome the bees, but at the same time, I try hard not to get in their way.

I’ve noticed, however, that the bees have a “schedule.” They get busy in the early morning, but seem to go off to other tasks, or other pollen sources in the afternoon. To plant flowers and vegetables is to invite bees, and other creatures. So, I now water the plants in the early evening, rather than in the morning, so as not to disturb my apian neighbors. So far, we seem to be getting along just fine. Fortunately, ponies and deer don’t seem attracted to nasturtiums (which taste peppery), and that’s just fine with me.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

