The Mole Poblano Challenge

I’m going to attempt to cook mole poblano tomorrow. And I don’t even know what a chiles mulattos is, or even chiles anchos; and I have very little experience in seeding, roasting, and generally cooking with actual chiles—although I once took the lead in a chile emergency: my friend, C.–an expert Mexican cook–uncharacteristically rubbed her eyes while driving after cooking with chiles, and suddenly declared “I’m blind!” forcing me to take over the steering of the car, thus saving both our lives.

That should count for something, no?

The dish is supposed to be Mole Poblano de Guajolote (Turkey), but I’m making it with chicken. The dish was invented by a Dominican nun in the Santa Rosa convent in Puebla, and was said to originally contain about a hundred ingredients. But I’m going with the “easy” recipe, which contains only 4 kinds of chiles, peanuts, almonds, raisins, and chocolate, as well as cloves, cinnamon, anise, onion, garlic, tomatoes, sesame seeds, and peppercorns. This could easily be a disaster. But maybe not. Pray for me.

I will post a photo of the result tomorrow night.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

