Purslane, anyone?

How about a purslane omelet with Istara cheese (part of the family of Ossau-Iraty Brebis, a classic, hard ewe’s milk cheese)?

When I was a kid, my Filipino mother used to make a salad out of the succulent leaves of purslane. She’d clean it, then marinate it in vinegar with chopped onions. Even as a kid I thought it was delicious; it was one of the few salads I’d eat. But I had no idea what the stuff was called until–decades later–I found it recently in the farmer’s market in Marina.

What would we do without the internet? I have learned that purslane is indigenous to India (thus perhaps traveled to the Philippines during trade with that country). In the Ilocano language it’s called Ngalug in the Philippines. In the U.S. it’s also called “Pigweed,” and it’s pretty ubiquitous in gardens, often regarded as a weed. Apparently, purslane is quite nutritious, and, medicinally may have some value too. Check out it’s chemical make-up here.

I gave it to Michael, who is always up to a cooking challenge, and he came up with a tasty omelet. We got the Istara from The Cheese Shop in Carmel. If you like cheese, and you haven’t been there yet — oh my gosh, get yourself over there!

Categories: Food, Farms | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Purslane, anyone?

  1. I grew up with ngalog, too. I like it more as an adult. The mama cultivates it in her garden, and cooks up a bowl full of ngalog every few days during summer. Boiled without any kind of seasoning is delish for me. The husband and I like to call it crack weed, as in the stuff that grows up through the sidewalk cracks. I’ve made scrambled eggs with the weed. Put it in with beans as they simmer on the stove. I’ve thrown it in other dishes, too, just don’t remember what. The stuff is great for the skin. The mama, who grew up in the Philippines, likes to tell the story about how their pigs ate loads of it and had rather shiny skin. 🙂

  2. susan

    in our dialect Ilonggo we call it ALOSIMAN.. even saudians have this in their menus cooked with lambs meat…masarap

    • Pym

      Wow, thanks for responding to this post that I wrote in 2011! Haven’t blogged here in quite awhile.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

